17 Comments

Pinch Me (Not Literally)

It works, you know. If you pinch yourself while you’re dreaming, you can’t feel it. I learned when I was young, during an awesome dream about David Cassidy. I pinched myself. I didn’t feel anything. In my dream, I realized David Cassidy was a dream. Dream ruined.

David Cassidy, Partridge Family, Heart throbs

I had another dream, but this one was for my life. I wanted to make books. And I’d chased that dream with high hopes and lots of enthusiasm. The book had been written. Literary agents researched, stalked, and researched some more. Queries sent. Waiting endured.

Just before Christmas 2014, Steven Chudney, an agent on my short list, sent an email offering to represent me.  It was, literally, a dream come true. I was afraid to pinch myself, but I did jump up and down with such exuberance, my kids thought I’d fallen down the stairs.

After accepting his offer, I waited for the dreamer’s pinch to wake me up: he’d changed his mind, he’d sent the email to the wrong person, or any of the million reasons I’d created in my mind.

It never came.

cheek_pinch

Steven had some perceptive advice on a few additional scenes the story needed. I worked on them and the copy edits he sent. I learned from these edits, among other things, that tee shirt and t-shirt are incorrect. It’s always T-shirt, people. I also realized how many times I use the word T-shirt.

I got the edits to him just after Christmas. He liked them and told me this baby was almost ready to go. Our book baby. Ours because we’d formed a partnership. It felt so good not to be in this alone anymore.

But first we needed to come up with a name. He thought A Voice Among the Thorns wasn’t teen friendly. Titles are not my forte, as you can see by some of my post titles, and I was on-board with changing it. We threw some ideas at each other and agreed on Ask Me to Wait. Steven’s idea. I loved it.

He began submitting it to editors and told me it would be two weeks to two months before we heard anything. That’s when it struck me that “ask me to wait” is a very utilitarian phrase—book title and writer mantra rolled into one.

Now I wait. They say it builds character.

paper-books-bookbinding

17 comments on “Pinch Me (Not Literally)

  1. Great post, Dawne! I’m waiting with you! 😉

    >

    Like

  2. Doing the happy dance with you, Dawne! Awesome news!

    Like

  3. Congratulations! First step accomplished. Wish you excellent luck with your book.

    Like

  4. This is so exciting! I’ve watched your journey since the Panera Bread days!

    Like

  5. It’s been a long journey. Glad you’ve been a part of it.

    Like

  6. Such wonderful news! I’m so happy for you. You’re living the dream! 🙂

    Like

  7. Thanks, Lorna. Hope you are as well. Remember years ago we mentioned going on a book tour together…

    Like

  8. Congratulations and good luck–happy writing!

    Like

  9. If you need something to dance to, here’s BNL Pinch Me: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=u3NE6UuaLiY

    Like

  10. Hey Dawne, Congrats on scoring an agent! As much as I also want it to be me, I am always thrilled to see a new author succeed. Just shows it can be done. Wishing you all the best with your book, may it have many many satisfied readers.

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Thanks. But I know how you feel. I was always the one congratulating (and I was happy for them), yet I wanted it to be me. It just takes a lot of perseverance. I know I’ll be congratulating you soon!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

