28 Comments

Ready. Set. WRITE! Week 9

writing, writing group, support

 

Monday, August 3 Week 

1.  How I did on last week’s goals– I didn’t participate last week. I was immersed in the world of Twitter. I received a few passes on my query, so I revised it and sent out a few of the revised versions.

2.  My goal(s) for this week

  • More waiting. Waiting is good. It builds character.  At least that’s what I tell myself.
  • Even though I was excited about some new projects, I decided to go back to another WIP that I’d put aside. It’s a 150K word behemoth. I’ve been moodling on how to break it into two novels and I’ve got some ideas. I’d like to divide and conquer it this week.
  • Get comfortable with the Twitter thing.

3.  A one word/phrase that sums up what I wrote/revised- 

Oliver knew the precise moment she penetrated him, made her way into his blood. He could lie in bed and live it all over again. Sometimes he’d do it deliberately. Other times he’d try to ignore it, block it, crush it, but it would crash over him and, unable to stop it, he’d become lost in it.

4.  The biggest challenge I faced this week (ex. finding time to write)Waiting for responses to the queries and the usual juggling life and writing.

5.  Something I love about my WiP-Getting back into this WIP after a hiatus, and feeling good about breaking it up into two novels. Two of my favorite secondary characters will have their time in the spotlight now.

Thanks everyone for your encouragement.  Good luck to you on your goals!

If you’re wondering what Ready. Set. WRITE! is all about, it’s a summer long writing intensive with the purpose of writing, revising, planning, and keeping each other accountable. This year, your RSW hosts are Alison Miller, Katy Upperman, Erin Funk, and Jaime Morrow. If you’d like more information or to participate in Ready. Set. WRITE click here.

 

 

28 comments on “Ready. Set. WRITE! Week 9

  1. Ooh, nice lines! Sorry for the rejections, but each one is just getting you closer to you yes. (that’s what I tell my self anyway) 😉 Happy writing this week!

    Like

  2. Some of my favorite characters are my secondary ones. Yay for more spotlight on them! And so sorry about the rejections. I know all too well how that goes. But it only takes one! (Or at least that’s what I keep telling Myself. 🙂 )

    Have a great week!

    Like

  3. Great excerpt!
    And good luck with the queries. I’m in the same boat and I know how stressful it can be!

    Like

  4. Waiting is the bane of a writer’s existence! Sorry to hear about the passes on your queries, but I love that you just rewrote it and tried again. Persistence really is key. Also waiting…endless waiting…;). Also loved the excerpt you shared! Have a great week 🙂

    Like

  5. Ah, the waiting game! I’ve just re-entered the query trenches and am trying not to go insane, haha. Good luck this week!

    Like

  6. I hear you on the Twitter thing. I’m using Tweetdeck, but it’s something that I have to almost schedule in to remember to use and even care about using. I’m hoping that will change over time…

    Like

  7. I love that excerpt from your story! It makes me want to know who “she” is. I also love that you’re breaking your novel in two so your secondary characters get more time in the spotlight. It’s so hard to limit yourself when it comes to developing those characters, especially if they’re colorful enough to deserve more page time. Hang in there with the querying, and I hope you hear some good news soon!

    Like

    • Thanks, Erin. I’m excited to get going on it. I’ve been thinking about what you said in your post about working on a trilogy and finding it tricky to describe settings you’ve already used. I’ll be running into that. Thanks for the heads up.

      Like

  8. Ugh, querying! I’m going to be querying soon, so I feel your pain. Waiting for possible rejection isn’t so fun. If I don’t work on a new project, I’ll probably go a tad insane. 🙂

    Good luck meeting your goals this week!

    Like

  9. Love the excerpt! I read it twice 😉 Good luck with the next round of queries. . .those are always testy. And I’m not sure we ever really become patience experts.

    Like

  10. I thought the excerpt from your writing was very intriguing, and it made me want to write more. My goals are to network more effectively, but I’m rubbish at it really

    Like

  11. I admire your persistence, Dawne. May the writing gods always be with you!

    Like

  12. I made the choice a while back to break my big 140k book into two books too because there was just too much fun stuff to cut!

    Like

  13. Yep, watch out for Twitter. It’s a colossal time-sucker.

    Like

Leave a Reply

