32 Comments

Ready. Set. WRITE! Week 7

writing, writing group, support

If you’re wondering what Ready. Set. WRITE! is all about, it’s a summer long writing intensive with the purpose of writing, revising, planning, and keeping each other accountable. This year, your RSW hosts are Alison Miller, Katy Upperman, Erin Funk, and Jaime Morrow. If you’d like more information or to participate in Ready. Set. WRITE click here.

Monday, July 21-Week 7

1.  How I did on last week’s goalsI had a good week. I finished revising A VOICE AMONG THE THORNS, and ended up at 72K words which I’m very happy with. I also sent out ten queries. I’ve spent the past few months researching agents and I already have quite a list.

2.  My goal(s) for this week

  • Wait for responses to the query. If they’re not positive, I’ll rewrite it. Of course it will take a few weeks to get any feedback.
  • Begin a my new project which I’m really over-the-moon excited to jump into.
  • Do everything I put off last week in order to write such as laundry, weeding, cleaning bathrooms. I reserve the right to put it off another week if I get really into writing the new WIP 😉

3.  A one word/phrase that sums up what I wrote/revised-  A good friend gave me an awesome idea for a novel. I’ve been moodling on it since Thursday and I’m ready to run with it.

4.  The biggest challenge I faced this week (ex. finding time to write)Waiting for responses to the queries and the usual juggling life and writing.

5.  Something I love about my WiPCan’t wait to get started.  

Thanks everyone for your encouragement.  Good luck to you on your goals!

 

 

32 comments on “Ready. Set. WRITE! Week 7

  1. That’s great that you have a new idea and you’re ready to go with it! Will help SO MUCH to distract from querying. Trust me. 🙂

    Good luck with the querying and all the things! Hope you have a great week!

    Like

  2. Yay for new ideas! I still love the term “moodling.” 🙂 Best of luck with all those queries you sent. *fingers crossed* And congrats on finishing your revisions. You did have a great week! Hope this one’s even better. 🙂

    Like

    • It sounds like everyone had a great week. I hope it’s the same this week. You have inspired me to work on my tan. But I love writing on my lap top outside so it’s a win-win (if the weather cooperates)

      Like

  3. A new WIP! How shiny. When you weigh a SNI against cleaning a bathroom, the bathroom doesn’t really stand a chance, now does it?

    Like

  4. Oh, waiting for query responses is pure torture, right? At least you have a shiny new project to distract you! But it’s always hanging around in the back of your mind…I hope they start coming in soon for you 🙂

    Like

  5. Congrats on getting your work out there with a query! Research is your friend for that route, so nice job. I can’t believe the stories I hear from agents who receive material for genres they don’t rep. You are ahead of the game just by having put thought into who you send your query.

    Like

  6. ahh! The query trenches! Congrats on getting started! It’s an exciting and scary journey. Fingers crossed that you get requests 🙂

    Like

  7. I respect your process…I, too, if recieving rejections, will go back and look at the ms, see where it can be improved. Also the query, if it’s not getting nibbles. I wish you well with the agents. Keep at it, don’t give up. Good luck!

    Like

  8. Congrats on finishing up your revisions! That’s fantastic, Dawne! Hope you get some great feedback on your queries, or even better, some requests! Hope you have a super productive week! 🙂

    Like

  9. You’re doing everything right! Small batch of queries, then adjust your MS based on feedback…and in the meantime, work on something else! Best of luck to you with querying–fingers crossed :).

    Like

  10. Oooh, querying! Exciting! I hope you get more requests than you know what to do with 🙂

    Like

  11. Congrats on finishing the revisions and best of luck querying! I’ll be jumping into the trenches soon, too! 🙂

    Like

  12. I hope you get some great responses to all those queries you sent out! Waiting is tough, so hang in there! Sounds like you had a very successful week in terms of your goals. Nice job on finishing up those revisions! Good luck with this new project you’re planning! 🙂

    Like

  13. Congrats on finishing your revisions! I did too so here’s me, shooting a confetti cannon for both of us! And good luck with your new WIP.

    Like

  14. I’m excited for you! Moving on to the query stage. I hope all goes well!

    Like

  15. Good luck with querying! And with all the lame stuff, like laundry. I’ve got a giant pile staring at me, too.

    Have a great week!

    Like

  16. Yay! That’s so exciting that you’ve started querying! Did you ever hear back from Query Drill? I’ve been told they can make you ‘wait’ just like a real agency. Not sure if that’s helpful when you’re wanting feedback. haha! And good for you for starting a new project to keep you occupied during this waiting stage!

    Like

Leave a Reply

