22 Comments

Ready. Set. WRITE 5!

writing, writing group, support

If you’re wondering what Ready. Set. WRITE! is all about, it’s a summer long writing intensive with the purpose of writing, revising, planning, and keeping each other accountable. We will be sharing our goals on Mondays, keeping our posts BRIEF (2-3 lines per heading) so we can spend more time on writing and less time on blogging. This year, your RSW hosts are Alison Miller, Katy Upperman, Erin Funk, and Jaime Morrow. If you’d like more information or to participate in Ready. Set. WRITE click here.

Monday, July 6-Week 5

I can’t believe it’s week 5 already. 

1.  How I did on last week’s goalsA few weeks ago I participated in an online workshop to prepare submission packets for querying. Feedback from the agent reviewing the material was due last week.  I received positive  feedback and great suggestions from Marisa Corvisiero  on my submission packet for A VOICE AMONG THE THORNS and the same from the beta readers on the manuscript.  Huge sigh of relief. No major overhauls, just a few minor revisions. 

2.  My goal(s) for this week- I already revised the query and synopsis based on Marisa’s suggestions. For the upcoming week I plan to make the necessary revisions to the manuscript, reread it and begin querying Friday. I’m really motivated to get this done. I read in an agent interview that summer is the best time to query because not as many writers query over the summer. 

3.  A one word/phrase that sums up what I wrote/revised- The revised paragraph of my query. 

Seventeen-year-old Jersey Alexa (Jax) Mason is allergic to drama. Unfortunately, from the moment her boyfriend dumps her on a crowded dance floor, drama follows Jax like an unwanted stray. Amanda Rosenbaum’s reappearance and rumors of her time in the “looney bin” provide a welcome distraction. Jax doesn’t get that the real drama is just beginning.

 4.  The biggest challenge I faced this week (ex. finding time to write)-Getting everything done.

5.  Something I love about my WiPIt’s almost ready to submit to agents. It’s taken a long time and I’ve killed thousands of my babies to get to this point.

It’s been great connecting with so many other writers. Thanks everyone for your encouragement.  Good luck to you on your goals this week!

22 comments on “Ready. Set. WRITE 5!

  1. That’s so awesome that you received so much positive feedback! Go YOU! Good luck with the querying and have a great week!

    Like

  2. I love the paragraph you shared! I think you’ve done a great job hooking us in with very few words. Nicely done! Good luck with querying this week! It’s exciting to see all your hard work come together to get it into query-ready shape, isn’t it? 😀

    Like

  3. Yay! Your hook is really great! I’m sure it’s a little bittersweet to start the query process. Good luck with it!

    Like

  4. Congrats on getting to querying point. And it’s super that you got agent suggestions before you begin. Here’s wishing you tons of luck (and patience 🙂 )

    Like

  5. Best of luck in the query trenches! Fingers crossed!

    Like

  6. I’m so happy to hear you got lots of positive feedback on your submission packet! That must be really encouraging! Best of luck with your revisions this week, and I’m crossing my fingers for you as you jump into querying!

    Like

  7. I love that your biggest challenge was “getting everything done.” LOL that’s the story of my life! :-p Sounds like that query package help was great–it’s always such a relief to only have minor changes to make! Good luck this week!

    Like

  8. So awesome!!! On the feedback from beta readers and the agent! And almost querying! Good luck with that!!!

    Like

  9. That is great that you got positive feedback! And getting to the querying point is awesome! Good luck!

    Like

  10. Yay for being almost done! So exciting. I wish you the very best of luck with the query process. I’m so not even close to that stage yet, and love getting a glimpse of that part of the process. Have a great week!

    Like

  11. Not having major things to fix must be such a great feeling. Good luck getting everything ready to query!

    Like

Leave a Reply

