20 Comments

The Life and Death of a Friendship

The first time we met was over the phone. She’d called to inquire about a group I belonged to, but we ended up talking about other things. She and I clicked.

We still clicked when we met a week later. We were surprised by all we had in common. She loved the Gilmore Girls, and I got the DVD boxed set for Mother’s Day. We both loved china and crystal and parties. Colin Firth’s Mr. Darcy made us swoon. We complained about the same things too. It’s funny, but at this moment I can’t remember what.

Soon we were spending an hour on the phone everyday. We’d go to the coffee shop and she would get tea and I would get coffee. We promptly lost track of time and were gone for much longer than we (or our families) had anticipated. After a few hours I would start getting guilt pangs and say, “I’m getting the guilts. I should go home and make dinner.”

We laughed together often and cried sometimes, as well. We could tell each other anything, even the mucky things about ourselves that we’d never shared with anyone. I’d never had a friend quite like that. She was an amazing person. I admired her ability to focus totally on whoever she was talking to. And I loved her sense of humor and wit. She was wise, too. I could call and ask things that at one time I’d only trust my mother to answer: “This hamburger has been in my frig for six days. Do you think it’s still good?”

We called each other when we needed someone to pull us from the brink of disaster (physical or emotional). “I’m making flower arrangements for the graduation reception. They suck.” I’d shout into the phone. Then I’d break into my signature pathetic whine, “Can you come over?” No matter what else she was doing, she’d come over and fix it. And I’d do the same for her. When an acquaintance mistook us for sisters, we were delighted. Neither of us had ever had a sister– until now.

My three girls and two boys clicked with her three daughters and they soon were acting like brothers and sisters. She and her family accepted our invitation to spend Christmas at our house. My kids hated not having any cousins to spend Christmas with, and this was an answered prayer. We spent a wonderful day together and when I went to bed that evening, I envisioned years of growing up and growing old together, her family and mine. It was a lovely dream.

One autumn, a few years after we met a change came over my friend. She stopped calling and wouldn’t answer my calls or return them. Her daughters did the same to my daughters. If I went to her house, she wouldn’t answer the door. But if we saw each other socially and I spoke to her, she seemed her normal witty self. I wasn’t sure if she was avoiding me or if I was imagining it.

After awhile I was certain things had changed, but if I brought up the subject she avoided giving me a straight answer. And my heartfelt apologies (for what, I was never sure), had no effect. As suddenly as we became friends, we became strangers. And my heart broke. I watched all the lovely visions of our families growing up and growing old together turn black and swirl away like smoke.

Now when I see her, she turns her head and hurries past, pretending she hasn’t seen me. And I wonder what I did to make her so bitter that she would throw away our beautiful friendship, without giving me the grace to try to save it.

Disclaimer: There may be an ad/video visible below or above. I’m not sure because they are invisible from my account, but I know they appear to my readers with annoying frequency. I do not receive monetary compensation for the ad nor do I endorse it.  

20 comments on “The Life and Death of a Friendship

  1. Yep, a disappointment. So sad.

    Like

  2. This is a beautifully written story about such a heart-breaking event. Like you, I want to know what happened.

    Maybe it’s because I’m experiencing something similar. I have (had) a friend who was my go-to-gal for all things emotional. We didn’t spend a lot physical time together because she lived several hours away, but we talked every week for hours–phone, email. She moved back to my area and I haven’t seen her once and we barely talk, regardless of my repeated attempts to get us together. She always has a “plausible” reason why she can’t or cancels at the last minute via a text message. I’ve decided to stop trying. I feel like a stalker.

    People change. I get that. But, after having been so close, it sure would be nice to have the courtesy of some kind of closure, wouldn’t it?

    I hope you someday find that closure.

    Like

    • Thanks for your support. As for your friend, hopefully it has nothing to do with you, and she’ll come back around once she gone through whatever it is she’s experiencing. If not, I hope you get some closure.

      It’s hard feeling like a stalker (great way to put it. That’s how I felt) with someone you were once so close with.

      I’ve been blessed with a few really good friends since that happened and they’ve stuck around 😉 Hopefully it’s the same for
      you.

      Like

  3. Your mercy and humility will leave an open door.

    Like

  4. A letter will allow words needing to be said without requiring the instance of time when spoken to the face for reflection. Its all that can be done now. After that, the letter will be the seed for renewal, or at least allow closure on what was once.

    Like

  5. What Larry says is a good idea though in all probability it will go unanaswered but at least it’s a new approach. There is no rational reason for what she did, unless her husband complained of the time she was spending with you or some other reason. Baffling and hurtsome. I feel for you

    Like

  6. It’s not just you, Dawne. I’m not sure what’s going on, but prayers won’t hurt. :/

    Like

  7. Hi Dawne – These things are so painful and I can so identify with how you feel. I know time will ease the pain, but the “why?” will always remain. Maybe this friend had a history of not maintaining friendships and having a lot of fall outs with other people and other groups – so it’s not you – She could be a person who always burns bridges.

    Like

  8. I, too, know this story well.

    Like

  9. Boy can I relate to this….if only I could stop hearing her words…” We’re friends no matter what ! “….so very sad to deal with a broken friendship….

    Like

  10. Unfortunately I now know exactly how you feel. I could have written this very post.

    Like

Leave a Reply

