4 Comments

The Death of Special

Dear Special,

I’m writing to warn you that Ordinary is conspiring against you. I think he is trying to take over the world. He knows once you are gone, the world will be his. He uses different guises (Comfortable, Relaxing, Equality) with the same intent–Your demise. He’s scheming to get people to settle for the lowest common denominator, instead of striving for excellence, or exerting any effort. He wants the world to believe that everything and everyone is and should be Ordinary.

Special, you are such a dear old friend. You were there when I was born and when my children were born. You attended my wedding. You’ve been to most of my family’s birthdays and holidays. I forgot to invite you a few times and always regretted it. You were with me every time I won an award, and in the quiet of the night when I finished my writing my book. If I’m paying attention, I see you when I look at my children, my friends and my husband.

I’m afraid of losing you. Special, we can’t let that happen. Without you, life is mundane and humdrum. You perk me up, give me something to look forward to and show me my value.

I know there was a time when I neglected you for No Effort (another alias of Ordinary). I could go from cleaning the house to a dinner date with my husband, without so much as looking in a mirror. Same clothes, same pulled back hair, same lack of make-up for every occasion. Well, maybe a dress if I was going to a wedding.

No Effort seemed like a friend. After all, I was too busy to put any effort in trying to look nice for anyone; it didn’t seem important. I see now it was just an excuse. I thought I didn’t need you anymore, Special.

I was ashamed of myself when I realized No Effort had taken your place. My husband, my family, my friends, actually anybody I came into contact with was special and deserved more from me than No Effort. More importantly, my appearance gave the impression I wasn’t interested in my life. I decided I wanted my appearance to reflect my gratefulness for my life.

Yes Special, we’re friends again. But Ordinary is still out to get you. Now he’s going after children, as well as adults. He knows if he gets them when they’re young, chances are they will never know you.

Ordinary misrepresents you brilliantly in his twisted play on “Self Esteem” (Success and praise at all costs) and “Equality” (Everyone is special in the same way and for the same reasons).

Do you remember when S²’s basketball coach gave trophies to every player on the team and player’s siblings?  Or that graduating class that had twelve valedictorians? Where were you then, Special?

Ordinary has even stooped to making excellence laughable and contemptible. Have you seen this bumper sticker: My kid can beat up your honor student? That’s a great motivation killer for anybody wanting to excel.

Oh Special, I know you remember the bride talking about her fiancé, the marine. The week before her wedding, she said to me (a complete stranger), “Everyone doesn’t need to make such a big deal over him. He’s not that special.”

Those words haunted you and I for days– “He’s not that special.” How could she marry someone she didn’t think was special. That poor man didn’t deserve to marry somebody who didn’t think he was special. Nobody deserves that. Ordinary was victorious that wedding day.

There’s an insidious conspiracy against you, Special. I know you’re going to tell me without Ordinary, you couldn’t exist, and all the guises and aliases he has skewed are good in their own way. You’re right. I know the beauty of Ordinary. But given too much power, Ordinary can defeat you.

Special, don’t despair. There is still much to be positive about. The pomp and circumstance of the Royal Wedding was proof of your importance.  Many churches cherish you. You are an honored guest at  proms, weddings and first birthday parties. You witness many happy occasions and achievements and you are present at every birth.

Even so, Special, for your own good, watch your back. Ordinary is out to get you.

Affectionately,
Dawne

4 comments on “The Death of Special

  1. A vast, yet ordinary, conspiracy.

    I have just recently read a book that made a related point that I really liked, the point was “Good is the enemy of Great”. Once you’ve gotten to Good, there’s still a lot of work to do to get to Great, but Good feels pretty comfortable so a lot of folks stop there.

    Like

  2. The funny thing is, that if ordinary had the couage to look, he would find special within himself. Thanks for your comment on my Blog. It is deeply appreciated

    Like

Leave a Reply

