2 Comments

Woulda, Coulda…

Remember that thing you swore you were going to do but you never did? Do you think it’s too late or that it can wait until life slows down a little? Think about it for a moment. Maybe now is the right time to go for it.

Writing a book and learning to play the drums have always topped my list.

I love the drums. I don’t know why. I always wanted to learn how to play them. I mean really play, not just play air drums or with pencils on the table (been there, done that).

I was in my late twenties when I decided to take the plunge. I took my toddler and headed to the drum store near our house. I walked in—and I walked right back out.

There were two young guys behind the counter wearing the heavy metal attire of the day. I felt so old (ONLY TWENTY-SEVEN) with my toddler, wearing my mom jeans and driving a mini-van. I decided the opportunity had passed.

Nathan Followill-KOL Drummer Extraordinaire

My husband is familiar with the drums due to his days in a garage band and we would talk about getting a drum kit and taking lessons together. That’s as far as that went.

Four children and a few years later, I still love the drums. My husband and I go  to watch local bands occasionally. He puts up with my zillion comments throughout the evening: “Which one is the high-hat? Which is the crash?” “Look, he holds the drumsticks the other way,” and the most common one, usually whispered in awe: “How does he do that?”

But this is not a sad story. The ending is not “shoulda”, but “kinda”.

My kids got Rock Band for the Wii and I would watch them play. After much prodding, I sat down at the drums and played a Lennie Kravitz song. Wow. I was hooked.

Dave Grohl-"Everlong" Mastermind

The day I played my favorite song, “Everlong” (which is in the Impossible category) on medium difficulty and scored 99% was a milestone I will always remember (seriously). I told my kids the day I scored 100% we would have a huge party. They bugged me endlessly to try for 100% until they got so sick of “Everlong” they couldn’t stand to listen to it anymore.

I haven’t had time to play Rock Band lately but maybe when the kids get older they will give me a real drum kit for Mother’s Day.

639M7CGZJYSU

2 comments on “Woulda, Coulda…

  1. I can relate to feelings of regret for not doing certain things when I was younger. One such thing, simple really…..I always wanted to cut my hair in some wild asymmetrical style and dye it a rich shiny platinum. As much as I wanted to be able to pull that off, I don’t think I really ever could have, so maybe it was all for the best. Now I have my bucket list…the things I still want to do, that I plan to do….someday. The places I’d like to visit, the art studio that I’d like to have and all of the art that I’d create, the hot-air balloon ride I’d like to take……I do hope “someday” will come without regrets. 🙂

    Like

  2. I think the hot-air balloon ride would make a great birthday gift!

    You could start throwing out hints for it now.

    Like

Leave a Reply

