12 Comments

Foetry (Faux-etry)

A funny thing happened after I published the following post. I found out the word I thought I made up was actually a real word. I did what I always do in such situations—panic. I “unpublished” the post before the scandal that surrounds the real “foetry” could leave a mark on my permanent record.

After the panic subsided (with a little help from a mug of mulled wine), I decided to publish the post anyway because:
A. I didn’t have a back-up post.
B. Maybe my mistake will teach others to practice due diligence before posting things on the internet that will be available to the entire world to read forever. Unfortunately, I know from experience that I probably have not learned my lesson yet.

Below is the now obsolete post, although I think a vote is still appropriate. After all this hoopla, I’m sure the word will make the dictionary someday. But I think I’m getting ahead of myself…

images-61

A few weeks ago a new word came to me. I’m not sure if it was a humorous inspiration from my muse, or a dig about my poetic posts from my hyper-critical internal editor. The word came to me after I visited the Query Shark and read:

 “Bad poetry is very easy. Good poetry is hard.  Poetry that illuminates and enhances art work, uses language for developing minds, and doesn’t bore the pants off the adults reading it either…well, that’s a real trick.”

-Query Shark aka Janet Reid

Reading that brought to mind the few poesies that had flowed with relative ease out of my head and onto my blog—The Ubiquitous Earworm:A Ballad and Black Friday Blues to name a few. And I felt a tremor of anxiety. It hadn’t occurred to me when I posted them that they might in fact, be taken as serious poetry or even worse, that someone might think I had taken them as serious poetry.

poem, poetry

Robert Frost a true poet.

Then it hit me. What I wrote wasn’t poetry. I wrote foetry. Or was it fauxetry?

Before I could enjoy the new-found word, I encountered the dilemma. Which way should it be spelled? Both rhyme with poetry, and although foetry makes more sense and looks better, it will inevitably on occasion, be pronounced fo-tree, thus rendering it useless. Fauxetry, on the other hand,  is very awkward. But the chances of mispronouncing it are rare, unless one is unfamiliar with the word “faux” and those people won’t care about the spelling anyway.

Blogging foetry/fauxetry sensation

Blogging foetry/fauxetry sensation

I’m sure it’s only a matter of time before Merriam or Collins get a hold of this word. It’s imperative that we, the people, decide the spelling now while it’s in our hands. But in order to make an informed decision some pertinent information, such as the definition, is needed.

Foetry/fauxetry improved upon but still bad.

Foetry/fauxetry improved upon but still bad.

Definition of FOETRY/FAUXETRY

fo·et·ry/faux·et·ry\noun \ˈfō-ə-trē

1a : atrocious metrical writing : poorly written verse
b : the productions of a faux poet : foems
2: writing that formulates words that may or may not rhyme, chosen and arranged quickly creating a specific and positive emotional response in the faux poet only. The response of readers varies from annoyance, to ridicule, to nausea.

Examples of FOETRY/FAUXETRY

  1. Any verse that contains the word Nantucket is an example of foetry/fauxetry.

Related to FOETRY/FAUXETRY

Synonyms: discordant, simple, Roses are red
Antonyms: poetry, literary
dictionary, definition, bucket list

If “bucket list” can make the cut…

Now that you’re well-informed on the subject, make your mark in history by voting for the best word for the job before they decide for us.
Disclaimer: There may be an ad/video visible below or above. I’m not sure because they are invisible from my account, but I know they appear to my readers with annoying frequency. I do not receive monetary compensation for the ad nor do I endorse it.  
12 comments on “Foetry (Faux-etry)

  1. I prefer a different spelling – Phauxitrie

    Like

  2. Well, to be honest I don’t think I’m even able to say that word let alone spell it, but today I learned something knew.
    Thanks.

    Like

  3. Considering the fact people spell things incorrectly on purpose, use phrases like “cray cray” and “nom nom” etc., I’m convinced there are no new words. However, “fauxetry” makes much more sense than 99 percent of them. I like it :)

    Like

    • Thanks, Abby. I have a confession though. I’m not sure how new it is. I found out yesterday it’s already an entry in the Urban Dictionary. It’s a word for the poetry emo kids write.

      I think my muse committed plagiary when she inspired me. Sometimes she’s more trouble than she’s worth.

      Like

  4. You made me smile with your word invention. But most of all, I have to say, your publishing my mistake, trying to retract and all the rest of it, made me feel less alone. I’ve done my fair bit of that kind of stuff

    Like

  5. My google search on fauxetry led to you. The definition provided at the end is quite good (poetic nonsense). Thanks a lot. Cheers.

    Like

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 492 other followers

