5 Comments

Broadsided by a Sledgehammer

I thought I was falling in love. With a book.

It’s been awhile since a book has grabbed me right from the first page, but this book had it all. The characters were gray, not Fifty Shades, but hundreds of shades. And for any person, fictional or flesh, lots of grays are the most interesting colors. The plot was amazing. Unpredictable in its turmoil. So many places it could go. I was so excited to be on the ride. I was tempted to pull an all-nighter and read it from cover to cover, but I had to get up early the next day. I dreamed about the book that night (seriously); I’ve never dreamed about books I’m writing much less ones I’m reading.

The next day I grabbed it at the first opportunity. When the sledgehammer hit, I shook my head, dazed. Maybe I was mistaken and the author hadn’t meant to use the plot as a weapon. The second hit by the sledgehammer crushed me. The beautiful shades of gray that had painted such a nuanced picture earlier were replaced with black and white. And the flesh and blood characters were replaced with cardboard stereotypes. And when the characters perched on their soapboxes, they forgot everything that had made them real. Nothing on the cover or dust jacket had prepared me for this.

sledgehammer, agenda, political

The first whack was unexpected.

The damn book was nothing more than a  political agenda in disguise.

And for a contemporary best-selling novelist to use her status so insidiously is nothing more than a betrayal of her talent and of the readers that expect more from her. The saddest part is that instead of wasting her talent and throwing the original plot under the bus in exchange for a pamphlet of propaganda, the author could have made her point more forcefully by painting it into a beautiful thought provoking novel.

That’s not to say that what she preaches is wrong, or that she shouldn’t be allowed to write her opinions. But her method is like a mother giving a child a dish of ice cream and hiding the liver and onions in it, thinking she’ll fool the child into eating something healthy. The child doesn’t eat it, and hates liver and onions more than ever. And now she doesn’t trust her mother either.

How could the author not see that she could have remained true to the characters and original plot and still made her point? In the end, she was preaching to the choir. The people she was attempting to convert were just offended. Nothing changed.

A sledgehammer is not an effective evangelization tool, no matter what you’re preaching, be it your political, religious or moral ideals.

Heav’n has no Rage, like Love to Hatred turn’d,
Nor Hell a Fury, like a Woman scorn’d.
-William Congreve

Disclaimer: There may be an ad/video visible below or above. I’m not sure because they are invisible from my account, but I know they appear to my readers with annoying frequency. I do not receive monetary compensation for the ad nor do I endorse it.  

5 comments on “Broadsided by a Sledgehammer

  1. It has been qiuet here. Everything OK?

    keep looking for new stuff

    Like

  2. I know what you mean. I love being entertained when I read. I love being entertained when I go to see a performer and they turn it into a political rally for their person. Unfortunately that is the tide of the times. You suffer from buyer regret.

    Like

  3. I keep wondering how you are. You were one of the first people to comment on my Blog, and I always keep you affectionately in mind because of that

    Like

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 542 other followers

