4 Comments

Nolite Te Bastardes Carborundorum

I choose books by their covers, wine by its label, and movies by their trailers. And I thought I didn’t care what other people thought of my choices. Until I had an encounter with O. W. Toad.

O. W. Toad Margaret Atwood Author

She doesn’t look like a toad.

I wasn’t always that way. When I was younger, I knew that knowledge was the key (to what I wasn’t sure), and that I was ignorant about many things. I relied on the well-informed and scholarly to choose things that would help me attain knowledge.

I also knew with a certainty that belied my youth, that classical literature was the foundation of knowledge. During high school my brother developed a consuming passion for literature. He devoured it like potato chips. He became my literary mentor. I borrowed his books– Steinbeck, Fitzgerald, Tolstoy, Dostoeveky. But I couldn’t devour them. I nibbled at them like they were steamed broccoli. I didn’t enjoy it and if I got any benefits, I wasn’t aware of them (I felt the same about broccoli).

Movies weren’t foundational to knowledge, but they could be building blocks. So I looked to the experts, the movie critics, to guide me into knowledge-acquiring-movie-Nirvana. The critics led me to Pulp Fiction. AAAAHHHH. I wanted to bleach my brain after that. Then their wisdom led me to Sideways. And I wanted to hunt down the critics that had “widely acclaimed” it and demand reparation for the two hours of my life that had been wasted. And while they were at it, they could reimburse me for the movie rental.

Pulp Fiction, John Travolta, Uma Thurman, Quentin Tarantino

In the end, I owe those critics (well, let’s just call it even) because I begin to choose movies without reading reviews first. Move over Quentin Tarantino, I’ve realized I’m not meant to be knowledgeable. Enter Miss Congeniality and Legally Blonde. I don’t care what the critics say.

Literature followed a different path. I just stopped reading for myself; I read to my kids. But when I started grown-up reading again I browsed the bookstore shelves with the anticipation of a teenager with a shiny new driver’s license, getting into a car alone for the first time.

“You have brains in your head. You have feet in your shoes. You can steer yourself any direction you choose. You’re on your own. And you know what you know. And YOU are the one who’ll decide where to go…”
― Dr. SeussOh, the Places You’ll Go!

I didn’t look at the best-seller list or book reviews. I chose the books that called to me. And I began to acquire knowledge. Not the kind I’d thought was necessary. The kind that taught me about other people, living in their own bubbles, trying to give me a glimpse of themselves. Both of us, reader and writer, connecting somewhere in our guts.

After reading lots of contemporary fiction, deciding to read classic literature again was like summoning up the courage to tip-toe into the cold lake water at the beach. I was fearful that if someone didn’t explain it, or tell me what to think, it would be lost on me. In fact, I was so focused on the mechanics I almost gave up. My brother told me to chill and just read it. So I did.

And I still do. And for the five hundred salient points that sail right over my head, I’m smart enough to get three or four. And that gives me plenty of stuff to ponder.

Which finally brings me to the point of this post— Margaret Atwood (also known as O. W. Toad).

I’d been hearing her name often so I decided to read The Handmaid’s Tale. It was not what I was expecting, and it was not like anything I’ve ever read. As I read, I was vaguely aware of a running commentary in the space between my conscious and sub-conscious minds. It went something like this: “What are her views on this (whatever cultural issue)? Is she trashing my views? Is she anti-Christian? Does she…..?” For the first few chapters I waited for a bogeyman to jump out at me and attack. But he never did. And I became engrossed in the tale and the place in Atwood’s gut that had given birth to it. It was an amazing place.

When I finished it, I gave it four stars in my Goodreads/Facebook account  before indulging in my usual obsessive information glut (this explains my in-depth knowledge of  things like Temple of the Dog, the life of Ernest Hemingway, and the in’s and out’s of NASCAR racing).

Is this where we live now?

I saw things like “anti-Christian” and “mocking traditional values”, and my heart did a little jumpy thing and a thought went through my mind, like a wisp of smoke, incoherent, just a dread— “Maybe I’m not supposed to like Margaret Atwood’s writing. Maybe I should delete my high rating so they won’t know.”

And I wondered if this place is unique to me or do we all live here? In this place where we believe that someone “from the other side” doesn’t have anything relevant to say, and isn’t worth listening to. So we don’t.

Then I shook my head and the smoke cleared. I did not delete my rating and I won’t delete my opinion. I can’t live in that place. If I did, I’d have to love Pulp Fiction.

Margaret Atwood The Handmaid's Tale

Nolite Te Bastardes Carborundorum

Disclaimer: There may be an ad/video visible below or above. I’m not sure because they are invisible from my account, but I know they appear to my readers with annoying frequency. I do not receive monetary compensation for the ad nor do I endorse it.  

4 comments on “Nolite Te Bastardes Carborundorum

  1. You made me smile when you went on about the “great” authors you brother bought to your attention when you were younger. I was a bit like your brother and read through them all greedily. Wether it got me anywhere, or made me any wiser is another question. Like you I staggered out from watching “Pulp Fiction” and have avoided Tarantino since. I’m sure he is very clever but the grusome violence is not to my taste. Embarrasingly I then developed a taste for Romcoms. Watched with a nice cup of tea and a snack they make a great way to pass the time. Not that you learn anything mind, but you can’t have everything can you

    Like

  2. Hi, how are you? There is a Canadian author event starting today (of course); banner at the bottom of my blog. My “Calling me versatile rocks” post agrees about perceptions of ‘good stuff’. I rarely like Oscar-rated films ect. I notice your town’s into baseball as much as mine cherishes hockey.

    July 1 is special. May I share my hometown with readers? We have famous facts I’d love reactions to. Happy Canada Day! http://cmriedel.wordpress.com/2012/06/27/my-home-and-native-land/

    Like

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 523 other followers

