6 Comments

A Siren’s Call to Writers

My muse has been vexing me.  She’s gotten into this annoying habit of visiting late at night or when I’m in car without so much as a dirty napkin to write on. (I recently paid the kids to clean the inside of the vans.) I should have a talk with her, but I won’t. I never do. I’m afraid of offending her.

Last night after I’d already been dragged out of bed by her a few times, I decided to hell with it and just stayed up. And I came across the siren call that seduces most writers at one time or another. The words:

writer's contest

The good news: It’s a free Writer’s Digest Contest.  The bad news: The deadline is Monday, May 14. There’s not much time.

Details: Welcome to the 10th (free!) “Dear Lucky Agent” Contest on the GLA blog. This is a recurring online contest with agent judges and super-cool prizes. Here’s the deal: With every contest, the details are essentially the same, but the niche itself changes—meaning each contest is focused around a specific category or two. So if you’re writing a upmarket (see exactly what this term means below) novel, this 10th contest is for you! (The contest is live through May 14, 2012.)

Of course, it’s for that  novel you’ve already written. Just get it out and polish it up. It’s show time.

quill, writing, book

Polish it up.

Disclaimer: There may be an ad/video visible below or above. I’m not sure because they are invisible from my account, but I know they appear to my readers with annoying frequency. I do not receive monetary compensation for the ad nor do I endorse it.  


6 comments on “A Siren’s Call to Writers

  1. I’m working hard on my memoir–finally. But it’s nowhere near completion (not even 1st draft completion). So maybe someday I can enter this contest. Thanks for letting us know!

    Like

  2. I’ve surely missed that contest, but I do know about my muse dragging me out of bed in the middle of the night. I do know that if I wait til the morning to express the same idea it never has the same quality of expression. That is so irritatring but what can you do

    Like

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 495 other followers

