December 13, 2011

Avoiding the Muse

Posted in Writing tagged , , , , , , at 8:23 AM by Dawne Webber

Greetings,

I guess you could consider this a guest post since the writer of this blog has gone AWOL. I’ve been trying to get in touch with her for days but she’s not taking any of my calls.

Oh, I guess I should tell you who I am. I’m Dawne’s Muse. I apologize for her disappearance, but I’m sure she’ll be back posting at the beginning of the year.

Meanwhile, I’ll be attending the semi-annual Muse Retreat and Convention with my fellow muses. If your muse is missing over the holidays, chances are they’re attending as well. We always have a great time recharging our “inspiration batteries” and swapping ideas. I’m hoping to get John Steinbeck’s Muse’s autograph while I’m there and a glimpse of Stephenie Meyer’s Muse.  But I’ll make sure to keep my distance; I’ve heard some “interesting” things about her. 

Dawne and I wish you all a very Merry Christmas and we look forward to confabulating with you in 2012.

Peace and Blessings,
Dawne’s Muse

PS- I thought coming up with the inspiration was the hard part of writing. But the actual writing of the thing is more difficult than I thought. Don’t let Dawne know, or she’ll never let me hear the end of it.

Writing, blog muse

Writing the actual post is not in my job description

18 Comments »

  1. Abby said,

    If you see my damn muse on your retreat, tell her to get her butt back over here ASAP.

    Like

    • Dawne Webber said,

      Abby, your muse likes to party. In fact she and I usually have a few cosmos to toast our writers. I’m not sure she’ll be up for leaving, but I’ll give her the message.

      Like

      • Abby said,

        Cosmos? I think I want to join you guys. Screw writing!

        Like

  2. I figured that my Thalia was laying on a beach in Vanuatu or Fiji somewhere, drinking margaritas and hitting on unsuspecting tourists.

    Wherever she is, I better score some duty free when she returns.

    Like

    • Dawne Webber said,

      I hope you get your duty free. I also hope other people don’t read this and assume they will be getting anything from their muses.

      If Dawne’s expecting anything from me, she’ll be very disappointed.

      Like

  3. I wish my muse got the invite to the retreat. I have ideas bursting from my literary seams and not enough time to get them all down. I know. I know. I shouldn’t complain. Embarrassment of riches and all that. But I have gifts waiting to be made and a clock that won’t stop ticking even when I take the battery out.

    Like

    • Dawne Webber said,

      I have an idea Lorna. I’ll get my muse to invite your muse. It’ll get your muse off your back for awhile, and maybe she’ll rub off on my muse while she’s there.

      Like

  4. [...] Avoiding the Muse (dawnewebber.wordpress.com) [...]

    Like

  5. marg preston said,

    Dawne have a wonderful Christmas and New Year and also to your family and your Muse!!

    Like

    • Dawne Webber said,

      Thanks Marg. I hope you have a wonderful Christmas too. I miss seeing your face around here!

      Like

  6. virtualDavis said,

    Fun post! Just the chuckle we all need from time to time. Request for next post: Avoiding the Warden. Seems like the warden who’s supposed to keep us at our desks writing, revising, editing skips out frequently as well. Not sure mine is at the semi-annual Discipline, Determination and Endurance Convention though. More like the daily dip at the corner pub with his mates!

    Like

    • Dawne Webber said,

      You’re right about the warden. He’s probably jealous that the muse gets all the press.

      And thanks to your comment, I’ve realized the biggest problem I have with writing: that my warden and my muse don’t get along. They fight a lot and don’t seem to be around here at the same time. Hmmm… things are going to change around here.

      Like

  7. [...] Avoiding the Muse (dawnewebber.wordpress.com) [...]

    Like

  8. [...] Avoiding the Muse (dawnewebber.wordpress.com) [...]

    Like

  9. […] Avoiding the Muse (dawnewebber.wordpress.com) […]

    Like

  10. Hello, i think that i saw you visited my blog so i came to “return the favor”.

    I’m trying to find things to improve my web site!I suppose its ok to use a few of your ideas!!

    Like

  11. Julio said,

    Hiya! I know this is kinda off topic nevertheless I’d
    figured I’d ask. Would you be interested in
    trading links or maybe guest writing a blog post or vice-versa?
    My website discusses a lot of the same subjects as youyrs and I believe we could greatly benefit from each other.
    If you’re interested feel free to send me an e-mail.

    I look forward to hearing from you! Superb blog by the way!

    Like


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 445 other followers

