8 Comments

Clara Cracks Some Nuts

Today I took D³ to see the Nutcracker Ballet for her first time. She was focused on the dancing, but I was focused on Clara. Clara is relegated to her little throne in The Land of Sweets for most of the second act, with nothing to do but watch the ballet and listen to the music.  She may smile graciously and applaud delicately like a princess, but you know her mind is buzzing around like a bee in a flower garden.

Nutcracker ballet, Clara

"They'll never believe this at school."

When the Nutcracker Princes crowns her, Clara smiles serenely, but she’s thinking, “They’ll never believe this at school.” Later as she reaches to adjust the glittering crown, she mutters, “This crown is killing me. But I’ll bet it looks awesome.”

As the Nutcracker Prince dances for Clara and the Sugar Plum Fairy, Clara watches with wide eyes. “Forget Team Jacob or Team Edward. I’m on Team Nutcracker Prince now.” Then she remembers her horrid little brother and a smirk plays across her face (it’s quickly masked by a gracious smile), “I think I’ll have Nutcracker Prince dance on Fritz’s face when we get back.”

Mikhail Baryshnikov ballet

"Forget Team Edward!"

Clara watches the Sugar Plum Fairy with annoyance— “That Sugar Plum Fairy is such a show off. But her tutu is to die for.”— before her attention is captured by the Arabian dancers (actually, just the male dancer). “Who is that? Hmmm, I think I want to meet him.”

Arabian Dance Nutcracker Ballet

"Who's that?"

She eagerly awaits the end of the performance, until she realizes the Nutcracker is dancing the Pas de Deux with the Sugar Plum Fairy. Clara’s smile wavers. “Why is he dancing with her? He never looked at me that way. Hey, where’s his head?”

Sugar Plum Fairy Nutcracker Prince Pas de Deux

"Hey, where's his head?"

Clara is filled with bitter fury. “It’s not fair. I loved him when he was an ugly little nutcracker.”
As the ballet draws to an end Clara smiles and waves, graciously accepting the Nutcracker Prince’s hand and the bows and curtsies of the dancers. But you know when the curtain closes there will be hell to pay.

The curtain draws to a close, but the show isn't over for the Nutcracker.

8 comments on “Clara Cracks Some Nuts

  1. If a toe shoe goes missing and an understudy is called in for the Prince going forward, I think we all know the logical conclusion…

    Like

  2. I’ve never enjoyed a rendition of the Nutcracker so much! :)

    Like

  3. I can hear what’s going on inside the Nutcracker’s head already.

    “I get her the best seat in the house, far better than all those mopes sitting out beyond the stage lights. I dance my little heart out for her while all she has to do is sit there, enjoy the dancing and listen to classical music. Yet somehow, after all that, I’m in trouble.”

    Like

  4. A person who has a nutcracker sees all of lives problems as nuts needing cracking.

    Just saying…..

    Like

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 509 other followers

