13 Comments

I Think I’ll Celebrate.

It’s something I swore I’d never do. And I meant it. I had a million reasons not to do it and I could have come up with a million more if I put my mind to it. Of course, I ended up doing it. Now I’m celebrating my seven month anniversary of doing it. It, coincidentally, is blogging.

The Grinch Who Stole Christmas

Facing another self-imposed blog post deadline.

Eight months ago, I’d never read a blog. Well, there was one I read years ago by a mom in similar circumstances to my own. But she was perfect, down to the homesewn cloth diapers, homemade baby food and tidy house. I felt like crap after I read her post. That was the end of my foray into blogging.

Until I wrote a book. And well-meaning friends advised me to blog as a way to get my name “out there”. And agents strongly advocated using social media as “pre-marketing” tool. Blogging became a necessary evil that I would have to embrace if I was serious about peddling my book.

I spent two months researching the “how-to’s” and brainstorming with myself (I had some fun, in spite of the occasional argument). I spent many frustrating hours just trying to find personal blogs to read. I mind-mapped, learned about “search engine optimization” (hooey), and looked for unique angles to base the blog on (my niche). I assumed some aspect of my book would be the subject, but after some sage advice from D¹, I realized the book I’d written couldn’t be the subject of an entire lifelong blog. What then? My life is nondescriptively busy, not blog fodder.

It struck me that I live an insulated life. There are so many views, opinions and lives I’m unfamiliar with, it’s like I live in a bubble. And my goal became to talk, no not just talk, converse with other people about whatever came up. I stumbled upon the word “confabulate” and fell in love with it. (That’s what writers do, fall in love with words) And I began to get excited about the prospect of blogging.

I plumbed the depths of my mind for a catchy tag-line and a witty, memorable title for the blog. Deriving witty titles isn’t one of my gifts, as demonstrated by some of the ideas I was kicking around (and many of my headlines):

Viewnique( because each person has a unique viewpoint, of course)
Random Patterns
Ms. Confabulous
Confabulation

Thank God I’d found a blog I really liked, and she advised in a post to use your own name for a blog title, if possible. That was the end of that particular headache.

I continued to research and came up with a set of blog goals:

  • I’d write at least three posts per week. How hard could it be to write a few hundred words every few days?
  • I’d have three months of pre-written posts before I even started the blog, just in case a it was harder than I thought or my muse took flight and left me in a lurch.

Ha, what a silly newbie. Those were goals that were easy to fall short of.

Rock star and Tiny Dancer? I don't think so.

I began writing my thirty-nine posts. I had a ball writing my first one, Rock Star and Tiny Dancer. I’d always loved the Elton John song, Tiny Dancer. It embodied the perfect romance for a young girl addicted to music (me). Every time I heard it, I imagined it as a movie of the week so that’s what I based it on. It’s still my favorite post and after writing it,  I was hooked on blogging. And, seven months later here I am, but I still haven’t come to the point of this particular post.

No, that's not her either.

The point was to dish on some of the things I’ve learned about the fascinating other-world of the blogosphere. Spoiler Alert: I guess that will be the topic of my next post. Dave Grohl, the Grinch, (possibly JLo) and I hope to see you then.

13 comments on “I Think I’ll Celebrate.

  1. Congratulations on sticking with it for so long and being consistent. People have no idea how hard it is to be creative on a deadline until they try it.

    Like

  2. Happy to celebrate your seventh month of blogging! Always enjoy your posts because they are honest and thought provoking. Looking forward to reading the next seven months worth! :-)

    Like

  3. Good for you! I’ve been doing this for almost 6 months. How’s the book promotion thing going? Has blogging turned into a thing of its own?

    I got into blogging to “test drive” my memoir stories, and the book is coming together as the blog develops–so I’m doing it in reverse! Any hints you can share with me?

    Anyway, keep blogging. Don’t know about you, but I can’t seem to stop! ;)

    Like

  4. First of all, I love your stories (especially the ones about Humphrey). Can’t wait to see them in book form.

    I’ve been working on the book and it isn’t quite ready to send out, so I’m not sure if the blog will help with the promo. And of course, the blogging sucks up time and “creative energy” and that takes away from the book stuff.

    I think the best thing I did was read ALL of Query Shark’s post (that’s what she says to do, and although I admire her, she intimidates the heck out of me) That taught me what a good query is. Now I’ve just got to learn how to write one :(

    If you start reading her stuff now, by the time you’re ready to peddle the book, you’ll have the foundation for writing a good query. Not to mention she’s HILARIOUS.

    Let me know how it goes.

    Like

  5. I’m glad you stuck it out, or we may never have been able to link our blogs! I’ll steal your 3 posts per week idea. I tend to post like crazy for a few weeks and then nothing for a few weeks, which probably isn’t the best way to get a lot of readers. Let us know when the book is ready

    Like

    • Actually, the three posts per week has dwindled to one and a half (yes it’s possible) or two per week. Three if it’s a really good week.

      At first I felt like I was racing myself– “I got out 8 posts last month I have to keep up” But I’m learning to ignore that.

      Thank for stopping by and hope things are going well with Clayriver and school!

      Like

  6. I admire people that stick with blogging. I started out writing about my daughters death, after several years passing so as to be more reflective than just showing raw emotions, but it soon became an effort to continue. I had over 30 pieces of poems and stuff I wrote in the early years, and decided that to keep them from becoming almost morbid in their Poe like raw feelings only posted two or so.

    As far as your “tiny dancer”, its one of my fav songs, and i also attribute it iot to an old WKRP episode from the 80’s where it is an critical element of the story line. But the odd thing is that when i saw the same exact episode in rerun just a couple of years ago they changed the music. Found out that reruns that use copyright music like that cant do so in reruns without paying for new copyrights. So in repeats they play some piano bar song they buy for 5 bucks. Had nothing to do with the original show.

    Like

  7. Really cool blog site. Where do you find the time??

    Like

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 533 other followers

